Home of Acadian-Cajun & French-Canadian Family Surnames, Genealogy CDS, Family Crests and Historical Information resources... since 1991.

Linking the future to the past........... one name at a time!

Click to join the Acadian-Cajun Genealogy, Culture, History and Music Group on Facebook
[ Note: You must be a member of Facebook, to join the Group ]
 

 

Cliquez sur la Fleur-de-Lys ci-bas, pour traduction française de cette page...

 

Acadian-Cajun Flag & French-Canadian Shield button

 

 

Family Genealogy CD-ROM lable

(Sample CD Cover Only)
"Specific Family Genealogy CD-ROM © 1999 to current year"
Family CD Info. buttonAcadian HeartCredit Card Order buttonAcadian HeartPostal Mail Order button

Be sure to scroll all the way down to the bottom of this page, to view its entire content.......

 

 

History of the Cajuns

[From Ancient France to Nova Scotia, to
Louisiana, to Colonial Texas", by Alex Loya.]

 

[Revised Edition; 2008]

 

During the French and Indian War one of the saddest episodes was the expulsion of the French population of what used to be the French Colony of Acadia in present day Nova Scotia. This human tragedy came to be known as the Great Acadian Exile. It was at this time that the people known as the French Acadians were scattered through the 13 British Colonies and to the Spanish Colony of Louisiana, where they became known as Cajuns, and where they gave Louisiana her character. In this thoroughly well researched book, drawing from primary and other sources, Alex Loya examines the incontrovertible evidence that a number of those first Cajuns moved on to Texas where they became a significant segment of the colonial population of Texas and participated in every aspect of American history starting with the American Revolution, when the tragedy of the French Acadians turned into victory.

 

Order the 'History of the Cajuns' Book

1. To order online (over "secure" server) using Master Card or Visa, click here.

2. To order by regular postal mail (much slower), click here for details.

Cost of book is $34.95 (USA) plus $20.00 shipping & handling.

 

Author's Credentials

Alex Loya completed 12 full years of full time, resident education. He has an earned Bachelor of Theology degree from International Bible College in San Antonio, Texas, and a Master of Divinity and a Doctor of Theology degrees from Slidell Baptist Seminary, in Slidell, Louisiana, which he pursued for personal enrichment. He graduated Magna Cum Laude at all levels. He earned a second Master of Divinity degree from New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary, in New Orleans, Louisiana, where he was invited to the Ph.D. fellowship. Alex was Instructor of Systematic Theology and Old Testament Prophets at a local Bible college in New Orleans. He is presently an active duty US Army Chaplain, where he is the first chaplain in U.S. history to be the chaplain of the 1st Battalion, 1st Special Warfare Training Group (Airborne), the battalion that makes the famous Green Berets.

 

Author Alex Loya and family:
Clockwise: Dr. Alex Loya, Keenan, Kirsten, Connor (Lil’ Alex), Karaleigh, Carissa (little bit) and his wife Sandra.
 

Alex Loya's Autobiography

Dr. Alex Loya has completed over 10 full years of full time, formal, resident education. He earned a Bachelor of Theology Degree from International Bible College in San Antonio Texas, and a Master of Divinity and Doctor of Theology Degrees from Slidell Baptist Seminary in Slidell, Louisiana, which he pursued for personal enrichment. He graduated Magna Cum Laude at all levels. Dr. Loya holds a second Master of Divinity Degree from New Orleans Baptist Theological Seminary in New Orleans, Louisiana, where he was invited to the Ph.D. fellowship. He was Instructor of Systematic Theology and Biblical Studies at Koinania Bible College in Marrero, Louisiana and he has been endorsed by the North American Mission Board, Southern Baptist Convention, to the Active US Army Chaplaincy. This military endorsement seeks to ensure that clergy in the United States Armed Forces have the same width and depth of professional education as lawyers and doctors serving our armed forces. Dr. Alex Loya hosted the Knowing God Broadcast and is presently the Senior Pastor of the Venice Community Church in Venice, Louisiana.

Order the 'History of the Cajuns' Book

1. To order online (over "secure" server) using Master Card or Visa, click here.

2. To order by regular postal mail (much slower), click here for details.

Cost of book is $34.95 (USA) plus $20.00 shipping & handling.

 

Endorsements

 

"Your book needs to be in our school libraries!" Amancio J. Chapa Jr., Coordinator, The Center for History and Culture, La Joya Independent School District.

"MOST interesting book! Awaiting your updated edition as well. THANK YOU!" George Gause, Special Collections Librarian, The University of Texas Pan-American Library.

"Your point of view and those in the tradition of Weddle, Thonhoff and Jackson are very important for broad historic perspective for the educational balance of particularly the younger generation and more recent immigrants and their descendants." Wallace L. McKeehan, Sons of DeWitt Colony, Texas

"I am really greatly impressed by your scholarship and writing. What you have written, I believe, will add significantly to the body of American history." Robert H. Thonhoff

"We have much yet to learn in American history. With this fine book, Chaplain Alex Loya has uncovered and revealed a lode of significant gems of American history that have heretofore been buried deep in the sands of time. Imbedded within its pages are many new insights, which to my knowledge have never before been perceived by historians. A prime example is that Texas was a veritable fourth front during the American Revolution. I think that Chaplain Loya may well be correct in these postulations and that he is on his way to being the world’s greatest authority on these subjects." Robert H. Thonhoff, author, historian, and former President of the Texas State Historical Association.

"I respect Mr. Loya when he says that his family, in San Elizario, have been there for centuries because all you have to do is look up his Loya relatives in the census and they were all born in Texas." Frank Triana, Tejano Land Guestbook.

"My 20+ years of Acadian genealogy research have made me realize that, in arriving at a factual conclusion, it is often necessary to review many published 'hypothesis' before deducing that a resultant fact is suitably accurate for publication purpose. Alex Loya's clear explanation and inclusion of source material, will make the reader a believer, as it did me! In his well-researched book, Alex not only clearly captures the essence of his own direct ancestor Jacques Loya and his involvement in the founding of Acadia, but in the process provides readers a better understanding of the many difficulties experienced by the Acadian-Cajun culture over the years and the fact that the "story" of the French Acadians continued with their participation in the American Revolution and how, in fact, the tables were turned and the British were defeated in the battles that the French Acadians participated in, at every battle field in the theater of operations of the American Revolution led by Galvez in Louisiana which, though essential, is not widely known... so that the "story" of the French Acadians actually ended in victory and not in defeat. I have absolutely no hesitation in recommending this "History of the Cajuns" as a must-read-book for all Acadian-Cajun researchers." Yvon Cyr, Acadian-Cajun Researcher and publisher of the oldest (1991) Acadian Genealogy Homepage web site at www.acadian.org

 

Order the 'History of the Cajuns' Book

1. To order online (over "secure" server) using Master Card or Visa, click here.

2. To order by regular postal mail (much slower), click here for details.

Cost of book is $34.95 (USA) plus $20.00 shipping & handling.

 

 


Special Message to all Authors: The "promotional" pages for Acadian-Cajun material on this web site, are provided "free" on the basis of me being provided one 'complimentary' copy of the book et al, as well as the required graphic image(s) and text. All promotional pages are _permanently_ displayed until/unless I am requested to remove same (when the material is no longer available). Contact me by email so that I may pre-determine if the material you seek to promote is suitable for use. Or, send 'complimentary' copy to Yvon Cyr, 3-304 Stone Road West, Unit 311, Guelph, Ontario, Canada N1G 4W4

 

In a Hurry?

Want a copy of all the pertinent information on this web site, on a CD-ROM?

Click here for a Great Genealogy Gift Idea!
 

Acadian-Cajun Flags

Sign up to receive our Boutique Newsletter!

 

 Click the image above to visit the Acadian-Cajun & French-Canadian Online Boutique...
 [Once at CafePress, enter "Acadian-Cajun" in the blank portion of the SEARCH BAR]

 

Subscribed to my Acadian-Cajun Newsletter?

On a periodic basis, I (infrequently) send out Acadian Genealogy resource information on a complimentary basis to those folks who have subscribed to receive same. If you want to be added to my mailing list, just complete the form below.

 

Click here or the image above, to view your Family Crest

 

View Digital Security Certificate Below
 

 

Acadian Book/CD - Author/Distributor

Click links below for detail

Michele Le Blanc [Evangeline Paradise Stolen Book] ***
http://www.acadian.org/evangelinebook.html
Jean Bernard [Genealogy; Acadian Families of P.E.I.]
http://www.acadian.org/bernard-books.html
Acadian Publications by Winston De Ville
http://www.acadian.org/winston.html
Warren Perrin [Acadian Redemption Book] ***
http://www.acadian.org/perrin.html
Phil Johnson [Guillaume (Billy) Johnson Book]
http://www.acadian.org/johnson.html
Alex Loya's 'History of the Cajuns' [available from Yvon Cyr]
http://www.acadian.org/alexloya.html
"In Search of Our Acadian Roots" CD-ROM
http://www.acadian.org/summary.html
Global Genealogy & History Shoppe [Tanguay CD]
http://www.acadian.org/tanguay.html
Amazon.com [Acadian-Cajun Books & CDs]
http://www.acadian.org/amazon.html
Yvon Cyr's 'Specific Family' Genealogy CD-ROMs ***
http://www.acadian.org/family.html
Paul Bunnell [Loyalist & French Native Books]
http://www.acadian.org/bunnell.html
"Gaby" Burke-Vienneau [Hache-Boudreau Book]
http://www.acadian.org/gaby.html
Brian Starr [Saints Who Left Descendants Book]
http://www.acadian.org/saintbook.html
"Acadian-Cajun Family Trees" CD-ROM
http://www.acadian.org/progeny.html
Bill Gerroir [Acadian Awakenings Series of Books]
http://www.acadian.org/gerrior.html
Marielle A. Bourgeois [Acadian-Cajun CD-ROM]
http://www.acadian.org/marielle.html
Gooselane Distributors [Acadian Books]
http://www.acadian.org/gooselane.html
'Ben' Benoit [Surviving Damnation Book] ***
http://www.acadian.org/benoit.html
Stephen A. White [Dictionnaires Genealogique] ***
http://www.acadian.org/swhite.html
University of Louisiana Press
http://www.acadian.org/lsubooks.html
The Story of Dudley J. LeBlanc (DVD)
http://www.acadian.org/dudleyleblanc.html
Cajuns and Their Acadian Ancestors
http://www.acadian.org/cajunancestorsbook.html

*** Yvon's Personal Favourite(s)

 

Acadian-Cajun Flags

 

 

Tri-CD label image

1st. CD Info. buttonFamily CD Info. button2nd. CD Info. button

Credit Card Order button

Postal Mail Order button

Acadian-Cajun Flags

Contact Me button

Back Home button

 

Comments about this Page? Send them to me at cajunEmail buttonacadian.org

 

 
Acadian Genealogy Homepage URL address: http://www.acadian.org
Webmasters: Click here to download graphic images.

Acadian Genealogy Homepage